BoyScoutJubileeStampAs we all get older, it gets harder to remember all the things that the troop has experienced over the years. This page will hopefully grow into a diary of the troop. For now, it’s a collection of remembered events. If you have something that could be added, please feel free to contact us. You can find many pictures in our photo album.

Troop 20 was first chartered as Troop 21 sponsored by the First Church in Hudson, NH.

The Troop’s first Scout Master was Fred Pollard, the Troop Committee Chair was Bill Stetzler. In 1969 the First Church, the original Charter Organization, decided that they no longer wanted to sponsor a scout troop so a new sponsor was sought.

The Lion’s Club of Hudson agreed to become the new sponsor and the troop was offered a number in the hundreds. They wanted to retain their old number but the church wanted to hold the number 21 as they still sponsored the Cub Scout Pack with this same number. Finally Daniel Webster Council offered the troop the number 20 and the rest is history.

The Charter Agreement between the Lion’s Club and Troop 20 is the longest continuous agreement in the Daniel Webster Council!

The troop still meets once a week at the Nottingham West. There are several special accomplishments that Troop 20 can be proud to have in its history. Among these are:

  • We have 57 Eagle Scouts (and climbing)
  • Our scouts consistently qualify for the National Quality Unit Award
  • Troop 20 was featured on the September 2005 cover of Boys’ Life magazine
  • 2004 Unit of Honor
  • Second Place, Klondike Derby, 2004
  • West Point Camporee, 2002 and 1997
  • Canada Camporee, 2000
  • Best Klondike Derby sled design, 1994

Scoutmaster Hall of Fame

  • James Medeiros, 2021 – Present
  • Gary Gasdia, 2017 – 2021
  • Steve Quinn, 2012 – 2016
  • Bill Zaharchuk, 2006 – 2012
  • Jeffrey Bailey, 1994-2006
  • Cheryl Vanderbeck, 1993-1994
  • Kenneth Juttner, 1991-1993
  • Kent Heubner, 1990
  • James Goodie, 1988-1989
  • Arthur Towers, 1984-1985
  • John Drabinowicz, 1984-1985
  • Bruce Frederick, 1983
  • Albert “Pete” Deschenes, 1980-1982
  • Raymond Smith, 1979
  • Richard Dolbec, 1976-1979
  • Clarence Jones, 1972-1975
  • Frederick Pollard, 1969-1971