Rank Requirements

The rank requirements shown here are official as of Jan. 1, 2016. Scouts
who joined the Boy Scouts of America on or after Jan. 1, 2016, MUST follow
the rank requirements listed below or in the current year’s Boy Scout Requirements book.

Scouts who joined the BSA prior to Jan. 1, 2016:  Who are working on the Tenderfoot through First Class ranks MAY continue to follow the old requirements, but MUST convert to the current requirements upon attaining First Class. Who have completed the First Class rank MAY complete the rank they are currently working on in the old requirements, but MUST convert to the current requirements for subsequent ranks.

Beginning Jan. 1, 2017, all Scouts MUST use the current requirements
regardless of rank.


Click Rank Below To Download The Requirements:



Second Class

First Class




Eagle Palm